I loved myself.

I loved my hair,

My body,

Personality.

I loved the way I cared,

The way my mother taught me.

I looked at the mirror happy

With what I saw

Flashed a pearly smile

Didn’t want anymore.

Loved how I lived

The plants and trees

In my heart I held dear,

My family, friends and pets

Kept my heart from fear.

But there was a darkness

A poison that lurked behind

One I didn’t see

Never jumped out at me

But kept it’s distance

Knowing my weakness

Watching my stillness

Somehow made me cry.

You see, I see a pool online

A pool of happiness

Everything is divine.

So many happy faces

Extravagant places

Picture perfect bodies

Photogenic smiles

Surrounded by so many people

They all call “friends”

All except for I.

But to let you know

I have travelled the world

More places you can imagine

Tried more foods

Than there are pictures

I just don’t flaunt it like the rest.

Sometimes I just lay in bed

Wishing my life was on the web

And people can see

How happy I am

Everyday, the beauty in me

Until I start scrolling

Through Instagram.

-Kitty Leahy

Leave a comment